Forfeited Land Sale - December 3, 2021
LETTER FROM YOUR AUDITOR
Thank you for your interest in the Lucas County Auditor’s Forfeited Land Sale scheduled Friday, December 3rd, 2021 at 10:00AM in the Commissioner’s Hearing Room located on the first floor of One Government Center. The time and location of the sale is subject to change to accommodate any social distancing requirements due to COVID-19.
If you are interested in bidding on forfeited land parcel #18-87539 (0 Glendale Ave., Toledo, OH), pre-registration must be completed by 12:00 p.m. Monday, November 29th, 2021. We CANNOT accept registrations the day of the forfeited land sale. Registration can also be completed on-line by clicking on "register now" at the bottom of the Forfeited Land web page.
At check-in, you will receive your bid card, used for bidding at the sale. We use two projectors at the sale to help bidders follow along with the auctioneer. The first projector will show the parcel for auction, and the second projector highlights the winning bid. Once the parcel is paid in full, the deed is created and recorded in the Recorder’s Office.
Please Remember To Pre-Register! All bidders Must Be Pre-Registered to take part in the Forfeited Land Sale. Again, we CANNOT accept registrations the day of the Forfeited Land Sale so we can place and mark seats for social distancing safety.
Please call 419.213.4406 if you need help to register online or schedule an appointment.
Lucas County Auditor
RULES AND REGISTRATION
Masks must be worn.
Valid Identification (ID) Required
NOTE: Order of Sale:
1. Redemption Call – prior owner who wishes to redeem property
2. Parcels offered at Fair Market Value or Amount owed in taxes
3. Parcels offered at minimum bid ($100) – this may not apply to All parcels
1. Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Section 5721.16 states, Parcel shall be sold for not less than the lesser of (1) fair market value plus the costs incurred in the foreclosure and forfeiture
proceeding, or (2) the total amount of taxes, etc. found by the court in a foreclosure
action. Winning bids of $300.00 or less must be Paid in Full on the day of the Sale. Winning
bids over $300.00 require a deposit of half (50%) of the winning bid price. All deposits, fees*
and paid in full parcel will be required to be paid Immediately At The Close Of Sale For Each Parcel.
*Fees include the additional charges for deed preparation ($45.00), transfer fees ($.50),
recording fees ($34.00 for the first two pages of the deed and $8.00 for each additional page),and current postage ($.55), which must be paid in addition to the bid price payment or deposit (per ORC Section 5723.12(A)).
2. The Sale is Final – All payments and deposits made on the day of the Sale are Nonrefundable Deposits.
3. Bidders are advised to proceed with extreme caution when bidding on a parcel. The law in
Ohio relative to Real Estate is “Caveat Emptor” which means Buyer Beware. It is expected
that all purchasers have contacted a Real Estate Attorney and Title Company prior to
bidding. Since All Sales Are Final, and bidders need to use due diligence and:
A. Make certain you are only bidding on the parcel you intended to purchase. Buyers are
obligated to purchase any property in which they are the winning bidder, or risk forfeiting a
substantial amount of money.
B. View the property. Many properties have Undesirable Characteristics, especially those which are being reoffered this year. If you have not carefully researched the property and physically viewed it, you may not want to bid on the property.
C. Research. There are a number of properties which are scheduled for demolition, have Code Enforcement orders or are cited for health code violations. The cost of any demolition, repair, or maintenance becomes the responsibility of the buyer. It is advised that you contact the City of Toledo, Code Enforcement Department at (419) 245-1400 to check whether or not the property is subject to orders or demolition prior to the date of sale; and the Lucas County
Health Department at (419)213-4074 to see if there are any health code violations on the
D. Be aware that properties listed as being sold IN REM are sold subject to all prior liens, such as mortgages, judgment liens, a stay on the property, etc.
E. Realize all sales are subject to any Federal Tax Liens, which will transfer with the property.
F. Winning bidders Must Be a property owner in good standing for a parcel to complete the
transfer. Any property owner with delinquent taxes on other properties, as of the date of the
Forfeited Land Sale, will not obtain title to any property in which they may have been the
G. All bidders will be required to sign an Affidavit that they have no prior interest in any
property to which they will be bidding. If prior ownership is discovered, not only will any
monies paid be forfeited, but the bidder will be subject to prosecution.
4. Bidders must have their money with them at the time of bidding. No One will be allowed to
leave and return later to make their payments/deposits. As each parcel must be paid
Immediately at the close of its sale, do not bid if you do not have the money on you.
A. Again, deposits/payments made on the date of sale are Cash Only.
B. Full and Final Payments must be made within ten (10) Business Days from the Date of Sale, which will be Friday, December 17th, 2021. Final payments may be made with Cash or Money Order in the Lucas County Auditor’s Office (7th floor of One Government Center) in the Forfeited Land Department. Absolutely No Extension of time will be granted.
C. If payment is not made in full on the tenth (10th) business day, the winning bidder will forfeit any monies paid, and the parcel will be offered to the back-up bidder for the same price. Backup bidders will then be given 10 business days to pay in full or the property will be offered at the next scheduled sale. Back-up bidders would have to finalize the purchase by the close of business on Tuesday, January 4th, 2022.
5. Deed Preparation is completed by the Auditor’s Office. The deed will only be prepared in the name of the winning bidder unless:
A. A Bid Release Form is properly filed with the Auditor’s Office before the Forfeited Land
Sale. A Bid Release Form allows a potential buyer the ability to appoint someone as their
personal representative for the sole purpose of bidding on property at the Forfeited Land Sale.
B. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation are filed with the Auditor’s Office prior to the sale. If
properly filed, the property may be placed in the Company Name. If the bidder’s name is not
included on the Articles of Incorporation, a written letter of authorization must be submitted
prior to the date of the sale.
6. Property sold at the Forfeited Land Sale will not transfer to the winning bidder until the deed is delivered to the County Recorder. This process will take approximately two weeks after the sale is finalized. Winning bidder cannot enter the property, alter it, or remove anything from the property until ownership is finalized by the deed being recorded.
NOTICE: Entering the property without permission of owner(s) or Occupants(s) is a violation of the Ohio Revised Code Section 2911.21, Punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of $250.00. Further, physically removing the property of the occupants without a court order, even after receiving the deed, may result in civil or criminal liability.
7. The Lucas County Auditor cannot give any warranty of title, as stated above. Additionally,
the Auditor does not give any representation regarding possession, eviction, prior inspection, scheduled demolition, health code violations, federal tax liens, other liens (for In Rem properties), or any other matter. Bidders are encouraged to do their own investigation.
8. Attendance will be limited to Pre-Registered Bidders only, on a First Come/First Served
basis. Pre-Registration will END at 12:00 p.m. on Monday, November 29th, 2021. Only those pre-registered will be given a Bid Card to use at the Forfeited Land Sale. There is no fee to
The Sale will begin promptly at 10:00 a.m. Check-in will start at 9:15 a.m.
The scheduled time, and location of the sale is subject to change to accommodate any social
9. The auctioneer may increase the minimum bid increments at his discretion in order to keep the bid process moving quickly. Do Not Delay in making your bid and when bidding raise your bid card to a reasonable height to identify yourself to the auctioneer. Sale is Final at the strike of the gavel. All decisions of the auctioneer are Final.
NOTE: Acceptance of your bid creates a contract between you and County Auditor. The Lucas County Prosecutor may file a lawsuit for Breach of Contract if you fail to pay the full price. You may be prohibited from participating in future sales. Bidding on property with the intent to delay the sale or with the intention of not paying the bid price constitutes the crime of Obstructing Official Business under O.R.C. 2921.31, a misdemeanor of the second degree; and bidders may be subject to prosecution.
10. Sales are conducted based SOLELY upon the Permanent Parcel Number of the
Property. The county does NOT use addresses for any purpose. The county is therefore not
responsible for inaccurate addresses provided in the county records. The county also does not warrant or guarantee any information provided in the county records..